There once was a man from Nantucket.


And now, a demonstration of why I write prose rather than poetry: Odes to my family, in limerick style.  I framed these for them last Christmas.  They were not impressed.

 

That's Farrah on the left.

 

1. Michelle “Bean”: High school swimming teenager with more clothes, shoes, makeup and hair straighteners than the rest of us put together.

There once was a girl from Bellaire

Who daily did straighten her hair

A fast swimming teen

A Facebooking Bean

She can never decide what to wear

2. Clark: High school debate & robotics, Dallas Cowboys biggest fan, you know him from the ADHD-world in the Clark Chronicles.  I wrote such amazing limericks on Clark, I couldn’t limit this post to just one.

Number One:

There lives here a boy named Clark

He treats school much like a lark

If he ever gets through

What he’s started to do

We are sure he will leave quite a mark

Number Two:

A dramatic and unruffled soul

A haircut a lot like a bowl

Witten’s best fan

Homework not in his plan

To be a big dork is his goal

3. Samantha: Middler schooler whose hygiene habits indicate she is not yet interested in boys .  Loves dogs, swimming, and disagreeing.

Samantha Susanne is her name

Contrariness is her main game

She’s strong and she’s tall

She likes dogs best of all

But her showering skills are quite lame

4. Eric:  My long-suffering island-boy-turned-Texas-redneck-wannabe triathlete husband.

There once was a man from St. Croix

With a fanny as fine as a boy’s

I may give him heck

But I love his red neck

He inspires the name Road to Joy

You’re welcome for the awesomeness.  Please, share some of your own in the comments. And don’t make me pull y’all for inappropriate content.  The cyber police are out there.

Pamelot

p.s. I’m working on a book this week.   Saving my prose for Going for Kona.  Only so much of the good stuff to go around.

Comments
20 Responses to “There once was a man from Nantucket.”
  1. LMAO! Your Samantha is just like My Deenah!

  2. MOM says:

    I think I will spend my eveing writing a lymeric about the author of this blog.I feel like in the nearly 44 years we have known her I could come up with some doozies!!!!!

  3. LBDDiaries says:

    The time of sitting
    has come and gone
    I must get up
    like the sun with dawn
    and put my life
    into order – and yet
    I think I’d rather
    just dream and sit!

    Copyright 1975 – I was sooooo poetic back then

  4. ryoko861 says:

    You’re goooooood!

  5. Dad says:

    There once was a girl quite fair
    Who changed the color of her hair
    Now she’s a devoted wife
    Who loves her life
    But sometimes still acts like a bear

  6. Christina says:

    I would love to know how you wrote limericks w/o being profane. I can’t do it!

  7. Eric Hutchins says:

    Dedicated to my father Gene Hutchins

    One day as I sat sad and lonely
    A voice came to me from the blue
    it said, “cheer up, things could get worse”
    so I did,,,,,,,, and sure enough, things got worse!

    For the life of me my brothers and I never figured out why in the world he told us that when we were said, but he always did, 100’s of times, so much so that we would start to crack up before he got the first line out, no matter how upset we were….
    I guess he knew what he was doing after all.

  8. Eric Hutchins says:

    other Gene isms

    Algee saw the bear
    the bear saw Algee
    the bear had a bulge
    the bulge was Algee

    Whats big red and eats rocks?
    A big red rock eater

    oh I could go on and on, and he did, and I’m smiling.

  9. Cate says:

    Oh I’m not going to even try and enter this limerick competition!
    I just bow and say “you are the master.”

    • Pamela says:

      Ha! Definitely not. But I do love to indulge the silly mood that comes over me now and then and RHYME. I also indulge in a little alliteration too, which secretly feels like the same thing. I know, writers are weird.

  10. Nikkolish says:

    I totally love these! Your sense of humor is great…I can imagine your kids alternate between cracking up at you and being annoyed because their mom is cool. Too funny!

Trackbacks
Check out what others are saying...
  1. […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by Blogging Goddess, PamelaFaganHutchins. PamelaFaganHutchins said: New post: There once was a man from Nantucket & other love limericks. Even worse than they sound. http://wp.me/pQZZA-x5 […]



Leave a Reply

  • Comment Policy

    Comments that are negative, bullying, harassing, unpleasant, or that piss me off will not remain on this site, if they make it past my eagle eye at all. Be nice, or go play somewhere else. Thanks!
  • Copyright

    EVERYTHING (posts, pictures, etc.) on this blog, Road to Joy, are copyrighted to Pamela Fagan Hutchins, all rights reserved, and may not be copied, used, printed or distributed without my express written permission. You may link to the blog and my posts. Questions? Ask me.
