Objects in the mirror are closer than they appear.


Did I mention I’m getting a camera?  Supposedly it is “in the mail.”  With apologies for the quality of the photos, I will post anyway, because my photo commentary is such a popular feature.  And because I can phone it in.

HEY, I did an extra post Friday night.  Back off with the pressure, dudes.😉

Click photos for related links.

 

I kid you not, this elephant was inside the Refinery in India where Eric is working. INSIDE. While this may be interesting, it is no excuse for Eric to continue farting around over there. Get your butt on a plane honey, and head on home.

 

 

The unusual thing about Froggy (Jamnagar, India) is not that he was inside the lobby of the hotel (see marble floor beneath his toes), but that he stood up and walked on all four legs like a dog. Who knew there were frogs that don't hop?!? Wow! Someone warn him to stay away from my husband if he values his life...

 

 

Thanks to Eric for a goofy goggle pic. He may have been trying to destroy his pretty-boy rep in the blogosphere, but I think he failed, don't you? The plant he is visiting has 20,000 employees. Amaza-bar.

 

 

 

I surprised Eric with a "hey let's Just for Men your hair" suggestion on the day he left for India. Apparently I can't follow directions. Which of these 3 items did I fail to use? UGH.

 

 

Blowing Eric a kiss to send by email before I head into the Houston Writers' Guild conference/presentation of Manuscript awards. STRESSED. 🙂

 

 

Sami had on so much fuschia eyeliner when I picked her up from a 13-yr old birthday party that I thought she had pink eye. Three hours later, I bribed her with ice cream to celebrate my HWG win with me. Here she is, desperately fearful someone she knew would see her. My little PRECIOUS. *Snort*

 

 

Winning stuff: me likey.

 

 

“]

I stopped at Jack in the Box for coffee. Oops. I blame PMS. But I do highly recommend the egg chorizo burrito, the eggnog shake, and the hashbrowns. :-/

 

 

Can you see the words in the mirror? Hint: see title of this post. One of my all time fave pics. Cowboy the Mutant Lab and Jeb the World's Best Dog (may he rest in peace).

 

I’m gearing up for a big writing week.  On tap: Going for Kona and the Clark Chronicles.  Oh yeah.

Peace and joy,

Pamelot

p.s.  Eric returns next weekend.  That leaves me six days to undo the last 36 hours of power eating.  If I eat nothing between now and then, my calorie count for the two-week period of his trip will equal my goal.

And I’ll pass out with my hands over the keys.

Where I’ll drool and short out my motherboard.

Which will in turn destroy my fledgling writing career.

That will throw me into a deep depression.

I will become unbearable and Eric will leave me.

Holy crap.  I’d better go get something to eat!

Comments
33 Responses to “Objects in the mirror are closer than they appear.”
  1. rtcrita says:

    Can’t wait for you to get your new camera! Picture taking is an obsession of mine, as you know. Hey, it’s a harmless activity that makes you get out and “see” life. Glad your hubby will be home soon. Sounds like you’re still hanging in there okay. Keep up the good work!

  2. Ann Brennan says:

    Please do go eat something. I don’t want to see you in a deep depression. I love the pictures this time. The elephant and the frog are my favorite. So wish he had it on video though. That would be awesome to see. Congratulations again on your awesomeness in the writing world.

    • Pamela says:

      He forgets he has the ability to video in the excitement of the moment! I shouldn’t talk — I do, too. 🙂 Thanks And congrats on the awesomeness of your speedy, safe, fun century ride.

  3. susie says:

    I would definately find another hotel if there was a big frog that walked around like a dog!!

  4. Heidi says:

    Yes, but when no one is looking, the frog dances and sings.
    And I always love Eric goggle pics.
    Never stop.

  5. LBDDiaries says:

    OK, that is THE best justification for going to get something to eat that I’ve ever heard. I’m with you there, Sistah, with the frogs. Alpha Hubby told me last night, “I dug up some toads out of the former flower garden. You know, they go underground for the winter.” Me, “FROGS??” “No,” he replies, “Toads. Toads are good. They eat bugs.” Me, “Well what was that in the swimming pool when we bought the house? “Those were frogs. Frogs are bad. They are a pain. Toads are good.” Me: “Toads are NOT good. Toads are gross. Toads are huge. Toads are icky-slicky-slimy no way Jose and I’d better not see one got that?” Him, “Sheesh, I told you they eat bugs.” Me: “I DON’T CARE. NO FROGS, NO TOADS. YUCK. ” We often have these scintillating conversations involving spiders, snakes, bugs, and frogs. I city girl, he country boy. Should the twain have met when it comes to toads??

    • Pamela says:

      Frogs are bad, toads are bad. Icky, slimy, hoppy. We have a pond in our current backyard, it is the locus of all the frog fornication in a fifty mile radius, I swear. Eric goes nuts. But out at Shangri-la, before the pond became the-pit-formerly-known-as-a-pond, the frogginess was off the hook. Out there it sounded more like a symphony. In our current backyard, it is more of a cacophony. Tell Leland to get hopping on the de-frogging and de-toading. He has a refined woman on his hands, and plus, didn’t you already kiss your frog to get your prince? You’re DONE. 😉

      • LBDDiaries says:

        Oooo, yes – that is SO true. Of course! That explains his mad love for frog legs! The toad in the pond prior to our new liner – after new liner and fresh water, he wanted to come back. He died for his stubbornness. A few days later, we opened the back door to go inside and a small frog jumped inside, then under the upright freezer. AH couldn’t get to it in time – we never saw it again so he’s probably dead BUT I think about it so much, I asked AH to move out that freezer and find the body. I need proof of death. Of course NONE of these things compare to the skunk in the ceiling…

  6. ryoko861 says:

    Why is your husband in a refinery in India? Don’t US engineering firms outsource their crap to Inida? Geez, don’t get me started!

    Oh, the frogs.

    I’m a poster child for “Save the tabpoles”. Those lovely little little sperm like creatures that invade my pool cover. Their mommy’s and daddy’s making my pool cover the spring breeding pond. Two years in a row now, I’ve been supplying my area’s creeks with mother natures bug catchers, keeping the mosquito population down by scooping up these buggers and releasing them. My son, the Bill Oddie of PA, wanted to keep a couple so we did and one or two survived and are in my garden. I’ve seen them. They’ve grown and now I have to keep my eye out next spring to make sure I catch them and relocate to the ‘toad breeding grounds” down the street.

    • Pamela says:

      Our backyard pond is closer to my husband at night than our bathroom, and it is apparently the frog fornication destination. In Houston the frogs are out nearly all year, and they are LOUD when they are “happy”. It drives him nuts. They don’t bother me, and I do appreciate them eating the mosquitoes.

  7. Eric Hutchins says:

    The Refinery is owned by a very wealthy family and the elephant it turns out was a birthday gift to the owners sun. No kidding,,, “daddy I want an elephant” “ok son”. The elephant eats 400 lbs of food per day. Holy crap (speaking of eating). It actually has a good life there is a 600 acre “green belt of mango and other treas around the refinery that the elephant has free reign of and is well taken care of. in case any of you were worrying it was getting mistreated.

    Love the pic of you in the car.

    Hate the whole hair dye thing

    laughed my a off at your closing, good stuff
    I miss yah.

  8. annieb123 says:

    So, my getting the oldest a car for his birthday doesn’t sound all that crazy now. Thanks for sharing, Eric and Pamela.

  9. Love, love, love the photo of the dogs in the mirror. Great shot!

    Here from the SITS Monkey Tribe! Great to meet you!

  10. Congrats on your writing awards! I hope you have eaten something.

  11. I too LOVE the dogs int he mirror shot!

    • Pamela says:

      I’ve considered blowing it up and framing it. I have another all time fave animal pic. I’ll probably publish it next week. Gearing up from publishing lawnmower spring to adhd momma on thursday, fyi!

  12. Tanya says:

    Hey Pamela, I love your pictures and the funny musings to go along with them! I love the pic of the elephant, would love to ride one someday. Thanks so much for visiting my site. And congrats on the writing awards. I am now a follower! Hope to get to know you better, have a great day!

  13. Nikkolish says:

    I’m cracking up about the pink eye! That is a hell of a lot of eyeliner! Congrats again on your win…so awesome for you! I hope your week of writing went well.

  14. Elle says:

    I’m glad I’m not the only one who goes to get coffee and ends up with alot more.🙂 I love the picture with the dogs, very cool. The eyeliner bit made me laugh. I used to wear blue eyeliner when I was younger and my mom would tell me if I put anymore on, I’d look like a blueberry.

    • Pamela says:

      Can you believe that when we were teenagers we thought all our overdone poorly applied makeup made us look older and better when it really just made us look like…goofy teenage girls😉 I was into jet black MARATHON mascara, multiple clumpy layers, and you couldn’t get that stuff off with a jackhammer. I’d pry my eyelashes apart by a straight pin, and reapply the next day O M G

Trackbacks
Check out what others are saying...
  1. […] My unwashed hair is shiny and bright (or is that greasy and oily??) * I lost three pounds — bring on the bikini! * I was able to stay off my injured “ultra […]

  2. […] out two previous photo essay blogs for other pictures of Eric’s trip to India:  elephants and frogs (oh my!); and motorcycle […]

  3. […] out two previous photo essay blogs for other pictures of Eric’s trip to India:  elephants and frogs (oh my!); and motorcycle […]



Leave a Reply

  • Comment Policy

    Comments that are negative, bullying, harassing, unpleasant, or that piss me off will not remain on this site, if they make it past my eagle eye at all. Be nice, or go play somewhere else. Thanks!
  • Copyright

    EVERYTHING (posts, pictures, etc.) on this blog, Road to Joy, are copyrighted to Pamela Fagan Hutchins, all rights reserved, and may not be copied, used, printed or distributed without my express written permission. You may link to the blog and my posts. Questions? Ask me.
