Hot Diggity Damn


Houston Writers’ Guild 2010 Manuscript Contest

Remember that contest I told you guys about?  They announced the winners.

Mainstream Fiction Novel:  1st place, Conceding Grace, by Pamela Fagan Hutchins (moi)

Romance Novel: 2nd place, Leaving Annalise, by Pamela Fagan Hutchins (moi again)

Yeah, I totally wish I’d entered Going for Kona, too, now, but it is undergoing rewrites, bummer.   It was my night.

 

Blowing Eric a long distance kiss right before I entered the reception. I look sleepy and stressed!🙂

 

They should have both been in Mainstream, because Leaving Annalise is not a Romance, but I didn’t want them to compete against each other.  Conceding Grace is the sequel to Leaving Annalise.  Got the scores back and 3 of 4 judges scored the 2 manuscripts 150 out of 150 (except I got 1 point off in each for having my name in the header — so,I can’t follow directions?  is that a problem?? and of course that means the scores were 149, but only because I can’t follow directions, so I won’t follow them here either, and I’m going with the substantive version of the score), and 1 judge scored L.A. 129…I like those scores, especially the high ones.

Besides, Leaving Annalise has already had her win; I rewrote Leaving Annalise this summer after a different excerpt of the earlier version won first place in the Romance Category for the 2010 MS Contest with the Writers’ League of Texas.

Big thanks to Christina Uticone aka Snowcones (former guest blogger on this site for Saying Yes and Saying No) for going as my date/life support system.  Because of her, I did not spend the night hiding in the bathroom/hallway/car.

Best part of the conference, as always: meeting other writers.  Nikki Loftin, Samantha Clark, An Duong, Rebecca Nolen, Chris Rogers, June Faver.  Awesome.  Also, great session by Elizabeth Pomada and Michael Larsen.  Nikki  — represented by Suzie Townsend — has traded some chapters with me, and her critiques have rocked.  So did her chapters.  I’m very much looking forward to seeing her books (and greeting cards) in print.  Many thanks to Roger Paulding et al for putting on the shindig, and to Roger especially for inviting me to help him entertain the visiting agents at dinner.

Oh, and about agents? I would like one, please.  Please, God, send me an agent.  Or let one of the four that are evaluating Leaving Annalise call soon.  Either option works for me.

I am very pleased.  Unfortunately, I celebrated on Facebook/Twitter/blog, home alone.  All my kids were elsewhere, and my husband was in India.  Anyone in Houston want to take me out for a celebratory ice cream sundae?😦

Yippee!!

Pamelot

Comments
40 Responses to “Hot Diggity Damn”
  1. Suzanne says:

    Aww if I was closer I’d totally take you out for a celebratory ice cream. Congrats on your amazing accomplishment. You should be extremely proud of yourself!

  2. Rene Riedlinger says:

    WOW!!! Congratulations girl! I would have loved to come get you and take you for ice cream! It’s already 10:30 tho and I’m leaving in the morning for a week and haven’t begun to pack!

    Congrats again, that HAS to feel good! keep up the tremendous work! We’re all rooting for ya.

  3. Awesome … well done … and congrats!! We’re all here cheering for you online!

  4. U like to write too? Cool. i couldn’t find your email so i left u a comment instead.
    thanks for visiting my blog.
    did u find me on twitter?
    if so what is your twitter handle?
    i want to be able to tweet with you.

    I double heart writing. It is aWESOME.

  5. Eric Hutchins says:

    An awesome validation of what is already known. You CAN do this, you really can!

    • Pamela says:

      You inspire me, you support me, and you remove all the roadblocks. You give me emotion and words for that which has no words. I love Eric. Thank you.

  6. Heidiopia says:

    So proud of you!! But totally not surprised! Rock on!!🙂

  7. tsonoda148 says:

    Congratulations Pamela! So happy for you. Well deserved!

    Terri

  8. LBDDiaries says:

    Thank you for stopping by and commenting on my blog! And yes I agree, we are amazingly blessed to have such wonderful men who are just really lucky they found us!! Heh heh. Congrats on the wins (you’re so hot you sizzle, whoo hoo) and you don’t look stressed, you look beautiful!!! I’m off to check out some other posts – I am a new follower and I can already tell I’m going to love your blog!

    • Pamela says:

      I tell mine that every day. Saying how lucky he is to have found me just never seems to get old! And thank you, thank you very much.

      • LBDDiaries says:

        Well OBVIOUSLY due to the amount of comments I’ve been generating, I LOVE your blog. I also can’t tell you how much your comment on my “Sex” posting touched me – it was so right on and I wanted to stand up and say, “Amen! Preach it sister!” because so few women get that! Maybe someday we can do a double post on that – what it takes, how it stays sizzlin’ afer 9 and 16.7 years and how it will never go away – will just keep getting bettah and bettah!!!

  9. Janet Bennett says:

    Great job Pamela! You Rock!

  10. Heidi says:

    I GOTTA try this winning thing. Sounds like it feels pretty good.
    ;)~

    I’m so happy for you! I feel quite privileged to have an award-winning author reading my work.
    I’m not WORTHY!!
    LOL

    Hugs!

  11. Irene says:

    Congratulations!! That’s wonderful! You can celebrate when hubby comes home!! What a great feeling! I hope yo have continued success!
    I just entered a contest a couple weeks ago…I won’t find out the results til NEXt MARCH!!!

  12. Nikkolish says:

    Congrats to you!!! What an amazing accomplishment. I’m keeping my fingers crossed that an agent scoops you up soon. =]

    • Pamela says:

      Thanks Nikkolish. Prayer, positive thoughts, sacrifices at a pagan altar, and crossed fingers all accepted. Although truly the pagan sacrifice thing creeps me out a little bit.

  13. Oh WOW!!! Congratulations. I’m a little late reading about this but it’s always fun to have people tell you that you are great over several days🙂

  14. susiekline says:

    Congratulations!

    xo Susie

  15. Congrats, Pamela!!!! It’s raining in my neck of the woods so I’m finally getting around to reading my feeds. Hearing about good news is good any day, no matter how many days later.🙂

Trackbacks
Check out what others are saying...
  1. […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by Eric Hutchins, PamelaFaganHutchins. PamelaFaganHutchins said: Hot Diggity Damn: and the winner is… #writingcontest #leavingannalise #concedinggrace http://wp.me/pQZZA-we […]

  2. […] Finally, I entered a few more contest.  I kinda liked that whole “winning” thing.  Believe me, you’ll hear about it if I win another one.   Speaking of which, I learned today I am a finalist in the Houston Writers’ Guild Manuscript Contest for 2010.  And they give actual prize money!  That’s the kind of contest I want to win.  I’ll find out on 10-08-10. […]

  3. […] Filed under Less Words, More Pictures, Utter Nonsense · Tagged with animals, award, cowboy, eric, india, kids, pets, pictures, samantha, travel, writing ← Hot Diggity Damn […]

  4. […] Other than I wouldn’t call myself a “stupid hoe” (ha), this is how I feel about moving gradually from the consulting world, and the company I started with a partner 14 years ago, to an attempt to write — my version of “going solo” — and launch a new career as a novelist. […]



Leave a Reply

  • Comment Policy

    Comments that are negative, bullying, harassing, unpleasant, or that piss me off will not remain on this site, if they make it past my eagle eye at all. Be nice, or go play somewhere else. Thanks!
  • Copyright

    EVERYTHING (posts, pictures, etc.) on this blog, Road to Joy, are copyrighted to Pamela Fagan Hutchins, all rights reserved, and may not be copied, used, printed or distributed without my express written permission. You may link to the blog and my posts. Questions? Ask me.
