I don’t know whether to be comforted or alarmed.


Actual photo up in the lobby while I waited for Eric to come out of a medical procedure recently:

Jesus consulting a shrink?

I was pretty sure Eric was in for an endoscopy, not a lobotomy, but I got a little worried after I saw this.  In my humble opinion, this picture would be odd no matter where it hung, but I’d find it less odd at a psychiatric clinic.

Damned if I could figure out the meaning of the picture either.  I welcome your interpretations, because I had a theological strike-out on my attempts.

Still pondering,

Pamelot

Comments
19 Responses to “I don’t know whether to be comforted or alarmed.”
  1. Heidiopia says:

    Maybe it’s more Jesus instructing a physician, rather than consulting one? Interesting!

  2. Glenda Finnegan says:

    Are you sure the Doctor in the pic wasn’t the patient in the pic? Just a thought. Also, I’ve noticed alot of Dr.s in the Bible belt like to use religion for a marketing tool. I think you’re supposed to feel safer since they are linked to the man upstairs. I love your funny POV!

    • Pamela says:

      Exactly — I did really feel they were marketing something with Jesus. Especially with the doctor being Hindi. But…I’m fairly cynical, and I’m always finding the funny spot, can’t help it. Everything makes me laugh.

      I hope someone that comments has information about the pic or author. There was no identification on the print, so I couldn’t google it.

  3. I also think that the doctor called on Jesus for support. Something like “What if I get in there and see something I’ve never seen before? What if I’m not sure what to do?” And Jesus answers in the “Footprints” genre….”if you stop seeing two sets of footprints, that’s when I’ll be carrying you.” Then maybe a little Knute Rockne…”now get in there and fight. We’re gonna win. We’re gonna give it everything we’ve got. We’re gonna crush ’em.”

    • Pamela says:

      I love the idea of Jesus giving a little Knute Rockne peptalk.

      I’m wondering about who is the patient and who is the doctor. I see the doctor leaning back, pondering, and Jesus leaning forward as if he is pouring out his woes.

      It could just as easily be Jesus leaning forward earnestly explaining and teaching. But the doctor leaning back and kind of looking like he’s in “tell me more” pose is what throws me.

  4. rtcrita says:

    He’s probably saying, “You know, it’s always ‘What would Jesus do? What would Jeasus do?’ Sometimes, I don’t even know what I would do! It’s a lot of pressure, doc. Really.” And the doc just tries to look interested, when what he’s really thinking is, “Man, I hope the wife is in a good mood when I get home tonight…”

    It’s totally possible.

  5. Susan's Boyfriend says:

    I think it represents Jesus pouring out all the burdens he has taken on for man….needing some help to understand…why.

  6. I don’t know. It’s just nice to see two men making eye contact and listening!

  7. Pamela says:

    I’m a doctor’s daughter, and so I apologize in advance for saying this but…I wondered if it is a “Doctors are God” type of message.

    So much depends on the artists’ POV…

  8. Eric Hutchins says:

    Honestly that is what I thought when I first saw it was that this doctor, who put it in his exam room was saying “see, even Jesus has to come to us”. but….
    really not sure, and maybe that is the point, that there are so many possible interpretations of this scene that depend on your perspective and experiences.

  9. Pamela says:

    Please if anyone finds info on this print let me know. I’ve been googling looking for the artist and name of this print. “jesus and doctor” “jesus and physician” “jesus and shrink” but I haven’t found it yet. I’d really like to read about the artist and his/her explanation of the picture.

  10. I think it is the doctor or psychiatrist consulting Jesus. I know many doctors who know the Lord that consult Him constantly when they are seeing and dealing with patients.

Trackbacks
Check out what others are saying...
  1. […] We all kid around about what a pain Juliet is, but we never really mean it. The rest of us love our pets, especially Samantha, and he sent it directly to her. This is a tragedy. I hope that someday they can forgive Eric (and Samantha forgives me for marrying Eric). Or at least that they don’t sock us with the bill for therapy. […]



Leave a Reply

  • Comment Policy

    Comments that are negative, bullying, harassing, unpleasant, or that piss me off will not remain on this site, if they make it past my eagle eye at all. Be nice, or go play somewhere else. Thanks!
  • Copyright

    EVERYTHING (posts, pictures, etc.) on this blog, Road to Joy, are copyrighted to Pamela Fagan Hutchins, all rights reserved, and may not be copied, used, printed or distributed without my express written permission. You may link to the blog and my posts. Questions? Ask me.
