Rednecking Can Lead to Redneckedness


Bubba-Mon and I went rednecking at the tractor pull in Nowheresville, TX last night.  This is what you call high class entertainment.  Makes me wish I hadn’t tossed my old “Party Naked!” t-shirt that I got during spring break in college, because that would have fit right in.

Here are some videos and pics:

1.  Listen to the end as we compare this pull to one of our children.

Take a closer look at the people-watching opportunities.  You might even want to play it again…and again…and again.

2.  Commentary at the end on “Oso Negro”:

Oso Negro flung mud on us from 25 yards away.  And it vibrated in my chest like it was giving me a heart attack. And a giant cricket landed on Eric’s shoulder and crawled up his neck during the pull.  Oso Negro’s pull was an “all five senses” experience!

3. Bubba-mon had never been to a tractor pull.  He thought about entering our 2000 Suburban in the local pull category.  I talked him out of it; the competition is fierce, y’all.  But I think this night was a life-changing event for him.  Here’s a picture of the diesel truck division.  Bubba-mon liked the monster tractors best.  He’s a wannabe redneck, but all that exhaust brought out the  tree-hugger in him:

Some of the monster tractors ran on jet fuel (helicopter engines). The diesel smelled worst and dumped a black cloud on us. I think I have lung cancer to go with my permanent hearing loss. Awesome!

4.  They say rednecking can lead to redneckedness, but I’m not going there, I promise.  Except I did receive one subliminal message during the evening which I though was pretty freaky:

The phrase that may or may not appear on the back of Bubba-mon's skivvies...

All in all, Bubba-Mon and I thought this was purt’ near the perfect date night. He worked on his accent and got a lot better.  Growing up in the islands, he used to say “ah-‘ight” and he’s learned the proper way to say it now is “ahlllllllraaaaaaaaattttttt”.  I’m so proud of him.

See y’all soon,

Pamelot

p.s. If you take pictures on your iPhone at the tractor pull and text them to your friends, you might be a redneck…and you’d be just like half the stadium, because everyone and their grandmother had one.

Comments
5 Responses to “Rednecking Can Lead to Redneckedness”
  1. penny says:

    No you didn’t!

  2. penny says:

    What I meant to say is I really don’t know you but can’t imagine you at a monster truck show! I did think when you used “rednecking” and “redneckedness” the post would be about neckedness; maybe another post on Eric’s rear tan lines. LOL! (Sorry Eric, I couldn’t resist). Thanks again for a good laugh.

Trackbacks
Check out what others are saying...
  1. […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by PamelaFaganHutchins, Christina Uticone. Christina Uticone said: One of the biggest misconceptions Josh and I face when we tell folks we're from NY is that we're from NYC, when in… http://fb.me/zCjkA9pa […]



Leave a Reply

  • Comment Policy

    Comments that are negative, bullying, harassing, unpleasant, or that piss me off will not remain on this site, if they make it past my eagle eye at all. Be nice, or go play somewhere else. Thanks!
  • Copyright

    EVERYTHING (posts, pictures, etc.) on this blog, Road to Joy, are copyrighted to Pamela Fagan Hutchins, all rights reserved, and may not be copied, used, printed or distributed without my express written permission. You may link to the blog and my posts. Questions? Ask me.
