Life Lessons in Business Travel #3,269


Notoriously cheap, this is my favorite hotel chain. I got it for $79 a night tonight. Which is a rip-off compared to the $50 a night I paid last weekend in Austin. Except for the cricket in the bed and the kicked-in door frame, there. And the cold shower that wouldn't turn off. But other than that.

So, I’m sitting here in my hotel room, stuck in Dallas, and I am supposed to be in Alabama at my client’s site at 7:30 a.m.  It ain’t gonna happen, folks.  I’ll get there by 1:00 p.m., at the earliest, if I get there at all.  How did I land in this predicament?  What rat bastard can I blame for my woes this time?

Me.  I brought it on with bad karma.  I begged for it.  I tempted fate. I waved the red flag at the bull.  I don’t know any more annoying cliches to use in this paragraph.

Check out my  Twitter feed — for the neophytes, read from the bottom up.  You are looking at my tweets (messages I posted on twitter) from Monday June 29th while I attempted to travel to Alabama from Houston.  I’m thinking I got what I deserved.  I bolded the relevant tweets, so you can decide for yourself.

TWITTER FEED: (this is the TOP, move on down to the bottom)

@rgrissom I don’t even have a bicycle with me😉 Maybe the hotel has a nice gym, ha ha. about 3 hours ago via web in reply to rgrissom

@snowcones 12 hr drive to client — or I’d be in a car right now. I’m totally missing the whole thing, and I WAS the thing😉 about 3 hours ago via web in reply to snowcones

@LauraSchultzNow Thanks Laura — it’s the travel gods punishing me for griping about the cost of wireless at DFW, ha. I just know it. about 3 hours ago via web in reply to LauraSchultzNow

Stuck in dallas with no suitcase, missed my gig, looking for cheap hotel. #thingsihateabouttraveling about 3 hours ago via Twitter for iPhone

OH NO I kevetch abt paying 4 wireless at DFW, & my flight is “indefinitely delayed” — just pls not the “c” word #thingsihateabouttraveling about 5 hours ago via web

@bookoven publishing interview with first-time novelist @CEMcKenzie1, writer of best-seller SPIN: http://huff.to/bhQyyP about 15 hours ago via Tweetie for Mac Retweeted by you and 5 others

#USDA settles #discrimination suit w/ female & Latino farmers: $1.3B http://bit.ly/bvn3qf #DOJ #HR about 6 hours ago via web

$3.50 for a Lifewater at DFW. Next criterion for traveling is variety of sugar & aspartame-free drinks & price. #thingsihateabouttraveling about 7 hours ago via web

$8 for wireless at DFW. I am going to plan my travel around free wireless hubs in the future. #thingsIhateabouttraveling about 7 hours ago via web

@cgronlund Thanks for the RT Ron. So, are you feeling fired up and ready to take on the publishing world today?🙂 about 7 hours ago via web in reply to cgronlund

@JulieWalraven Did you read @CFOCoach‘s What Salary do you want? http://bit.ly/dzKJKl #jobsearch about 9 hours ago via TweetDeck Retweeted by you

Shameless PM self-promotion: My #blog on the @WritersLeague conference, complete with (cute) snark 🙂 http://bit.ly/aM8AYT #writing about 10 hours ago via web

@TexParteBlog This Week in Texas Lawyer http://bit.ly/ahqNPA about 10 hours ago via TypePad

@WomenOfHR New Post @womenofhr: Summer Resolutions For Work and Play http://bit.ly/d0FbTh about 12 hours ago

Thx! @ DM_Alliance Congrats again to author/blogger @PamelotH on winning in the Writers’ League of Texas with her book, Leaving Annalise! about 12 hours ago via web

RT @snowcones #blog by @pameloth on WLT conference in #Austin The Lowdown, the Skinny, the Poop http://networkedblogs.com/5fy66 #wltcon about 12 hours ago via web

Happy Monday! Who’s starting their work week by traveling, out there? I’m leaving steamy Houston for Alabama. At best, a lateral move🙂 about 14 hours ago via web

END OF TWITTER FEED (this would be the BOTTOM, start reading up from here)

Yes, American Airlines did use the “c” word, which nearly caused me to use the “f” word.  Only I was trying to charm the lost-baggage-people into finding my suitcase, and most lost-baggage-people don’t find the “f” word charming or motivating, when used in their general direction.

Lesson Learned:  SHUT UP PAMELA, IT COULD GET WORSE

And it did.  G’Night y’all, from the suitcase-less comfort of the  Comfort Suites in Irving, TX.

Pamelot

//

Comments
3 Responses to “Life Lessons in Business Travel #3,269”
Trackbacks
Check out what others are saying...
  1. […] the rest here: Life Lesson in Business Travel #3269 « Road to Joy June 29th, 2010 at 4:15 […]

  2. […] Lesson learned: Keep your friends close and your enemies closer.  And use a Blackberry. Posted by Pamela Filed in Business, Relationships Tags: business travel, iphone, miscommunication 2 Comments » […]

  3. […] again, the real question is why I ever leave home at all without a crash […]



Leave a Reply

  • Comment Policy

    Comments that are negative, bullying, harassing, unpleasant, or that piss me off will not remain on this site, if they make it past my eagle eye at all. Be nice, or go play somewhere else. Thanks!
  • Copyright

    EVERYTHING (posts, pictures, etc.) on this blog, Road to Joy, are copyrighted to Pamela Fagan Hutchins, all rights reserved, and may not be copied, used, printed or distributed without my express written permission. You may link to the blog and my posts. Questions? Ask me.
