Life Lessons in Business Travel #3,268


Ah, caller ID, who might my caller be?

* Readers, yes, I know today is ADHD week, but my Wednesday ADHD blog is enough on its own to count for Monday AND Wednesday.  Trust me … and enjoy more lessons learned the hard way, below, courtesy of moi. *

Life Lesson in Business Travel #3,268

My phone rang as I pulled into the return line at Alamo Car Rental in Huntsville, Alabama.   I squinted at the caller ID on my iPhone.  I sort of recognized the number.  I knew better than to answer it right then, but sometimes I do inexplicable things, like answer the phone when I am returning a rental car and juggling iPhone, keys, handbag, suitcase, and laptop bag.

So I pressed  Accept.

The universe must have been channeling positive energy to me when I wavered between accept or decline, because I was rewarded with a client and some new business on the other end of the line.  The client engaged me for a raunchy sexual harassment investigation, on the spot.  I get these types of calls regularly, and I am paid to discuss words and topics that aren’t fit for Sunday School.   And, yes, I’m a lot of fun at a party!

Caught up in the moment — and excited to be able to stave off the bill collector for another few days — I lost track of my surroundings…until I looked up into the gaping mouth and wide eyes of the blushing Alamo attendant, who, bless his heart, was raised WAY better than that.

Oops.

I handed him the keys and left him standing there perplexed, as he struggled to make sense of a normal looking 40-something woman talking like that.  His Mama sure never talked that way!

Lesson learned: There is no safe place to do what I do, and certainly not the Alamo checkout line.  Hide and whisper when on the phone, Pamela!

p.s. I discovered at a young age that I can’t fix these awkward moments — as a college-age waiter I spilled a glass of water in a gentleman’s lap, then tried to wipe it up for him (yikes).  I just block out the trail of  hapless “Alamo attendants” left in my wake.

//

//

Comments
7 Responses to “Life Lessons in Business Travel #3,268”
  1. Susie says:

    You probably mde the attendant’s day- gave him/her something to talk aboput for days!!

  2. Heidiopia says:

    Wish I could’ve been a fly on the wall😉

  3. Jenny says:

    ROTFLMAO!!! Thanks, Pamela, for a good start to the week.

Trackbacks
Check out what others are saying...
  1. […] Life Lesson in Business Travel #3268 « Road to Joy June 21st, 2010 at 1:55 […]

  2. […] View original post here: Life Lesson in Business Travel #3268 « Road to Joy […]

  3. […] my own self to sleep, yikes.  I’ll be back to my irreverent self by Wednesday;  we all need something snarky after the seriousness of last week’s Confessions of a Guilt-Stricken Mom, and the […]

  4. […] again, the real question is why I ever leave home at all without a crash […]



Leave a Reply

  • Comment Policy

    Comments that are negative, bullying, harassing, unpleasant, or that piss me off will not remain on this site, if they make it past my eagle eye at all. Be nice, or go play somewhere else. Thanks!
  • Copyright

    EVERYTHING (posts, pictures, etc.) on this blog, Road to Joy, are copyrighted to Pamela Fagan Hutchins, all rights reserved, and may not be copied, used, printed or distributed without my express written permission. You may link to the blog and my posts. Questions? Ask me.
