Someone Else’s Perfect Little Family


Uh oh, we're missing Clark and Steven, but the picture of Eric and his girls was too great to resist.

When you hear the words “perfect family,” what image flashes in your mind?

Don’t cheat — lock on to the FIRST image.

Now, how does that compare to your “family?”

Hmmmm, are you OK with that?

For me, when I flash on the “perfect family,” I see my husband and our Brady bunch.  No hesitation.  We are blessed, even if we are a mish-mash of kids from different parents, pets from separate households-of-origin, and second-time-’round spouses.  I couldn’t imagine a family more perfect for me.

So what is the perfect family for you?  Do you consider yourself traditional or non-traditional: more Leave it to Beaver or Keeping up with the Kardashians?  Do you model yourself after your parents?  Would you change it if you could?

Only you can say…and I’d love to hear from you.   Because next week we are going to talk about family culture and traditions, and I want to know about the families I am talking to, and even hear the stories (comment! comment!) about culture and tradition in YOUR HOUSE.

Answer the poll, post a comment, make me happy.

Have a super weekend.

Pamelot


Comments
14 Responses to “Someone Else’s Perfect Little Family”
  1. Gigi says:

    I wish we could stick Steven and Clark in the picture!!

    • Pamela says:

      Me too. I’d photoshop them in, but I am a little pressed for time. Maybe next week I can scooch them in.

    • Pamela says:

      I’m pretty sure Clark will be elated NOT to be in the picture this week tho — his only beef with the Clark Chronicles is seeing his pictures on the blog.

  2. Eric Hutchins says:

    It has been an amazing trip so far and it continues to get better. There certainly are tough things to deal with and times that are challenging but the good so incredibly overwhelms the not so good. There are so many people involved in our “family” and such a huge range of personalities, and yet when it all comes together it is truly wonderful.
    Eric

  3. Susan says:

    Pam,
    Really what is a family? I have learned from living on island that your family does not always share your blood.
    With that said. My family is 2nd round spouses and although my daughter doesn’t share her fathers blood she is his daughter, by heart and my name. The only father she knows and loves. It’s like we have lived 2 lives rolled in to one.
    Our family also included our dog Chance up until 2 weeks ago. 17 years is a long time and we are still grieving for him.
    Our family is made up by choices . And it’s amazing :))

  4. Heidiopia says:

    El Pres and i were just talking about this last night! We consider our family “perfect”– not in the literal sense of the word, but in the sense of being everything a family should be. Highs and lows, give and take, understanding and compromise, unlikely bonds being forged that take my breath away with how they complete our picture. We are blessed and there is not one thing we would change about our crazy, kooky, mish-mash of personalities and experiences. It all equals LOVE. Beautiful.

  5. Kim says:

    Pam,
    Many of us remember that in our youth we were shown weekly on TV what a perfect family is.. Starting with the Ingles family.. Hard working parents, kids that wanted nothing more than to just go to school and to the fishing hole AFTER chores were all done of course… Then we were introduced to the Huxtables.. Two very successful upper class parents with kids that sometimes just didn’t get it., but at the end of each day everyone was happy and dancing… Hmmm .. So here is how my family rates with those: Two extremley hard working parents, a mix of our kids and my kid, all of whom hate chores and refuse to do them at all costs.. We are closer to Ingles poor than Huxtable wealthy, we as parents tend to lose our tempers, and our minds more than any family on TV, and I can’t say as we turn off the lights at night there is any dancing going on… BUT… We are a family of imperfect people all thrown together that learn how to love each other unconditionaly faults and all.. That know we are all gonna have the worst days ever.. And try to help each other just get through those.. Love, laugh,and forgive..not a perfect family… But MY family!

Trackbacks
Check out what others are saying...
  1. […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by Eric Hutchins, PamelaFaganHutchins. PamelaFaganHutchins said: How do we define the perfect #family? Who's opinion counts? http://wp.me/pQZZA-9M #parenting #stepparenting […]

  2. […] What happens, though, when family structure changes?  What survives, what dies, and what is reborn?  Because, there’s everyone else’s perfect little family…and then there’s ours!! […]

  3. […] of my readers have a divorce in the family or are non-traditional in some way.  I believe that divorce itself is not harmful to kids in all circumstances; rather it is the bad […]



Leave a Reply

  • Comment Policy

    Comments that are negative, bullying, harassing, unpleasant, or that piss me off will not remain on this site, if they make it past my eagle eye at all. Be nice, or go play somewhere else. Thanks!
  • Copyright

    EVERYTHING (posts, pictures, etc.) on this blog, Road to Joy, are copyrighted to Pamela Fagan Hutchins, all rights reserved, and may not be copied, used, printed or distributed without my express written permission. You may link to the blog and my posts. Questions? Ask me.
