“I love you but I’ll have to kill you now,” she said.


 

*

Clark said he wants to be a liar when he grows up. Oops, my bad. A lawyer.

 

That Boy.  We just asked him to mow the grass.  A simple task.  A task he performed (sort of) regularly.  Where did it all go wrong?

My teenage Clark navigates life with a faulty GPS.  ADHD blocks many of the signals you and I take for granted.  One of the hallmarks of an ADHD child is their inability to process a time frame other than the present; they operate on  either “now” or “HUH?”  This present-focus renders normal choice-consequences logic meaningless for the young ADHD child, and it improves only slightly as he matures.  Medication helps.  Support helps. But Clark and other ADHD kids find it hard to process why lying now to avoid present unpleasant circumstances will matter later — later is later.  That doesn’t mean they don’t know the difference between the truth and a lie,  that lying is bad, and that getting in trouble is unpleasant.  They just automatically go with “lie now and defer punishment.”

So how do you tell an ADHD lie from a deliberate, manipulative falsehood with the maturing ADHD kid?  It’s pretty dang hard, let me tell you.  Consider our lawnmower incident, for example.

It was a Saturday — chores day for the weekend.  Clark’s assignment: mow the grass in the front and back yards.  Clark had been mowing the grass  for years.  Well, we’d been trying to get Clark to mow the grass for years, anyway.  He always had an excuse.  The mower wouldn’t start, it was out of gas, the bag was full, he needed a snack/drink/to go to the bathroom, there were mosquitoes, yadda yadda.  He could wear a Mommy down, even a tough lawyer Mommy, but we still made him go through the roughly 3.5-hour process each week of the mowing season.

Lately, mowing had been less painful.  Not painless, mind you, but less painful.  Mowing had been accomplished in closer to forty-five minutes on average for a task that should take 20 minutes.  A 75%+ reduction in time.  We could live with that.

So, it was Saturday, and we asked Clark to mow.  Fifteen minutes passed with Clark outside and no roar of the lawnmower.  Then we heard the door slam and the familiar slap of Clark’s flat-footed duck steps as he came to discuss the mowing.

Deep breath, in through the nose, out through the mouth.  I felt the tension gripping my chest wall, and I let it go.  This time could be different.

“Uh, Mom?”

“Yes, Clark,” I said, careful to continue my breathing and not let the irritation show…yet.

“Um, I can’t get the mower to start.”

“AGAIN?” I wanted to say , loudly, sarcastically.  I didn’t.

“OK, son.  But are you sure you put gas in it?”

“Uh huh.”

“What?”

“Yes ma’am.”

“Alright, let me try.  But if I can start it, you won’t get paid your allowance, and we’ll add another chore.”

This was a method we had been using to great success in the last year.  Since his little sister could start the mower, we knew he could, and we felt no guilt about adding a few consequences to his helplessness act.

“I know, Mom, but it really won’t.”

And it wouldn’t.  So we called for reinforcements.  My husband Eric couldn’t start it either.  He checked the fuel.  He flipped it over and wiggled and jiggled a few parts.  He went in the shed and came out with some wire.  He did unfathomable things to the lawnmower, from my perspective.

“Try it again, Clark.  It should work now.”

“‘Kay.”

Clark gave the mower a few manatee-like pulls.  It was obvious his heart was not in this task.  To his horror though, the mower started.  Eric gave him a military salute, and Clark shuffled off to mow the yard with the speed and general demeanor of a pall bearer.

“What did you do?” I asked.

“It was missing a little spring; I just put a wire in its place temporarily.  I’ll have to run to Home Depot and get a replacement spring for a permanent fix.”

Thank goodness God pairs women like me with mechanical men like Eric.

The next morning I decided to gather up laundry for Sunday washing.  Normally, I holler up the stairs at Clark, Sami and Michelle to bring their laundry down.  This results in mini personal laundry fire drills all week long, because none of them take the Sunday instruction seriously enough and thus they end up with no clean clothes.  I was feeling magnanimous, so I trudged up the stairs and braved the “frat house” environment of our second floor, affectionately dubbed “the dormitory” at our house.  I honestly only go up there every couple of weeks.  I just can’t take too much exposure to the chaos.

I waded over piles of clothes on the hallway, bathroom, and bedroom floors with mounting agitation.  How did they ever find anything up there?  How was I supposed to figure out was clean and what was dirty?  Oh, so that’s where my nail polish had run off to.  And this array of dirty glasses accounted for the empty cabinets downstairs.

Sigh.  We had long ago decided to “pick our battles,” and found through trial and error that rebellion diminished if the kids were allowed to trash their own space.  They participated in a tidy downstairs and cleaned their own spaces bi-weekly.  It usually seemed a small price to pay, as long as I stayed on the first floor.

Well, I at least knew the clothes Clark mowed in were dirty.  I picked his shorts up off his bathroom floor, and, as I did, something fell out of his pocket and made a tiny “plink” sound on the tile.

I picked it up.

A spring.

A LAWNMOWER SPRING.

Oh my God!  My son had sabotaged the lawnmower to get out of mowing!!!!!

As I stared at the spring in my hand, an unstoppable desire to laugh came over me.  I’m a mother post-40, and I laughed until I was afraid I needed to change my drawers, if you know what I mean.

Eric heard my insane cackling and ran up the stairs.  He found me sitting on the bathroom floor, head leaned back against the door, tears coursing down my cheeks.

“You scared me! Are you laughing or crying?” he asked.

“Both,” I said.

I held the spring up for him to see.

Eric’s laugh was appreciative.  “He’s getting smarter.  Very clever.  But not smart enough to throw it away, and now we’re on to him.  Sabotage.  Oh my gosh.”

He sat down beside me and took my hand.

“This took too much planning.  Not a spur of the moment ADHD ‘I can’t help it’ lie,” I said.

“Absolutely.  Pure teenage boy lie.  The medicine is working.  He’s becoming more mature.”

I giggled again.  “How many parents laugh and consider it a good sign when their offspring sabotage machinery to avoid work?”

“There has to be a serious consequence.  We’re going to have to ground him,” Eric said.

“I know.  No more screens until summer.  But let’s put if off a few more minutes.  I don’t feel like being a big meanie yet.  I’m enjoying this, in a sick and distorted way.”

Five minutes later we called Clark in.

I held up the spring.

Clark was 5’9″ tall.  He has beautiful, innocent, big brown eyes; he makes wonderful eye contact and looks so sincere, usually.  This time he looked at the spring like Bambi staring at the fire in the woods.

Danger, run, Bambi, run.

“I love you, but I’m going to have to kill you now,” I said.

“Uh, Mom, uh…”

“Clark, if you were smart enough to sabotage the lawnmower, how in the world could you leave the spring in your pocket?  Didn’t you know I’d find it when I did laundry?”

“I never thought you’d go up to my room and get my clothes.”

“Ah…”

Note to self: must keep surprising children, change up my game.  This is how we keep them honest.

“So, I’m, uh, I’m sorry?”

“I hope so.  You know the drill.  Choice/consequence.   Bring me your laptop.  And choose better next time, son.”

I pondered our crazy household.  One child grounded for skipping homeroom (32 times) and another grounded for lawnmower sabotage. We have a 3/5 rule.  At any given time, only three of our five kids will be happy and issue-less, max.  As soon as one of them gets straightened out, another will dip into crisis, leaving us with the conundrum of “how do you root for one to rally at the expense of another one cratering???”  Steven, Nicole, and Michelle were all doing great — my husband Eric’s kids...uh oh, I saw a common denominator here.

I inhaled the scent of the freshly mowed grass.

“Honey, is it me?” I asked my husband, who was sitting across the table from Clark, catty-corner from me.

Eric smiled at me, his face earnest and supportive.  “No more than it’s me when both of yours are doing great and all three of mine implode.  He’ll have a wonderful assistant some day and everything will be just fine.”

“I want to be a lawyer when I grow up,” Clark broke in.

Eric turned to me and shook his head.  “I take it back.  It appears it’s you after all.”

Touche.

Pamelot

p.s. Clark, who approved the content of this and all blogs about him, wants to go on record as pointing out that his mother is a fiction writer, not a historian.   In rebuttal, I offer this:  “If you don’t like it, write your own blog, kid, and stop sabotaging lawnmowers!”

p.p.s.  Clark mowed the grass all summer without being paid his normal allowance as a result of the sabotage.

Comments
21 Responses to ““I love you but I’ll have to kill you now,” she said.”
  1. Heidiopia says:

    Ok, not only is this HUGELY entertaining content, but I love the way you TOLD the story. I’m now enlightened and will be checking pockets before I wash clothes for stray parts. Parallel universe🙂.

  2. Penny says:

    That is great! I mean, in a twisted sort of way. You have to be proud that he was smart enough to disable the lawn mower. And he made a plan, a rarity in ADHD-land. Good for him on that. I am sorry to realize the lying to get out of things is not going to go away with maturity for my son — I was really looking forward to that.😦

    I love how you handled it with humor but also were very firm to try to prevent lying in the future. I love reading about an older kid with ADHD — something to look forward to?

    • Pamela says:

      Laughter is the best medicine! Getting angry has never worked. The lying has decreased with maturity, but the biggest impact is drugs v no drugs. He is night and day different when he skips his meds. I need to go back and do some honest retrospective blogging about his younger days, and how hard they were vis a vis the lying and “floating” thru life and the constant motion etcetcec…except he keeps giving me current material to work with! The most painful thing for me, as his mom, is to look back on his middle school years and see the social impact. The scariest thing is all his near misses and the thought of him driving, with so many signals that he never catches. But the most frustrating thing is the LYING! Someday though all our ADHD kids will grow up to be functioning, entertaining adults…who just need really good administrative assistants.

  3. I taught for over 33 years, and many of the children were just like Clark. If you want to read some wonderful material that will give you some insight as to why Clark is, well, Clark, look into All Kinds of Minds, and Dr. Mel Levine’s books, especially A MIND AT A TIME. I loved trying to find my way through the mazes of these kids’ minds. Keep writing….it’s great.

    • Pamela says:

      Mama Snowcone! Christina talks about you and your experience teaching with reverence. Thanks, I will check out ALL KINDS OF MINDS and A MIND AT A TIME. Aren’t their minds amazing? We can’t keep up with Clark, and his boundless enthusiasm for using his mind is a joy. Thank YOU, and other teachers of kids like Clark, for seeing their awesomeness enough to deal with the frustration they can sometimes bring. Clark’s English teacher this year begged us not to remove him from Pre-AP English when he was failing. She said “he’s a challenge, but he’s worth it to me, and he belongs in here — “we” can do this!” Yay teachers!

  4. Eric Hutchins says:

    Its been an entertaining frustrating wonderful experience to be a step-dad to Clark. He teaches Pamela and I as much about ourselves and how we should approach situations as he does about himself. As we learn more and more and find better ways to encourage the behaivors we are looking for there is always some UGH about looking back at past interactions but…. We do the very best we can and move on. I agree that the lying is by far the most difficult thing to deal with and have to remind myself always to try to understand the why behind it and figure out how to help. One thing that I think is VERY important to keep in mind, is that it is not like the other kids are all perfect and without challanges, nor was I as a kid. In fact, many of the challanges that we face with the others are more difficult than Clarks. They are just simply different.

  5. Jill says:

    Love this!!! My son, my 7 year old son mind you, would have done the same thing. He has a devious little mind, our Leon. He can plan out some elaborite schemes to get out of doing things but not how to not get caught. I love that my husband and I are not the only ones that find it increadably amusing and get a sick sense of pride out of how cunning and cuniving he can be. One thing though I never would have clued him in to how I knew. I prefer to use the whole “a mom just knows…” approach to these things, at least for a little while longer.

Trackbacks
Check out what others are saying...
  1. […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by Jessica Sinicropi, Jessica Sinicropi, Christina Uticone, Christina Uticone, PamelaFaganHutchins and others. PamelaFaganHutchins said: Oh Clark! New #blog on #ADHD parenting🙂 http://bit.ly/9QCYGO […]

  2. […] husband and I faced a restructuring challenge when his 13-year old daughter moved in with us and my 11-year old son and 9-year old daughter.  We had been navigating the “steps in separate houses” issue, […]

  3. […] I can’t give you a how-to manual on how to parent your ADHD child — each child is unique, ADHD or not.  Lord, I still can’t figure out how to parent Clark most days!  I do love him in a special way, like no one else in the world, even though I still want to kill him half the time, too. […]

  4. […] stick a peppermint in and eat it like a lollipop.”  I AM NOT KIDDING.  YOU CAN ASK MY (DAMAGED) SON.  I am pretty sure this is inappropriate.  I am a certified expert in what is inappropriate, […]

  5. […] 17, 2010 My almost-15-year old son, affectionately known at our house and on this blog as Clark the ADHD Wonder Kid, is a mess.  You *think* your kid is  mess, but I’m pretty sure Clark beats your kid up one […]

  6. […] “I love you but I’ll have to kill you now,” she said. […]

  7. […] Clark the ADHD Wonder Kid, our human guinea pig, has just wrapped up 13-hour days at Bellaire High where the football team practiced three times a day.  In the 107-degree-heat-indexed-August days of Houston.  Yikes. Our big, tired, happy ADHD boy is not showing many signs of ADHD this week. Shown here with his beautiful older sister on the 1st day of school. […]

  8. […] holds the place of honor atop all other posts to this blog, and two other Clark Chronicles — I love you but I’ll have to kill you now, she said and Wasted Days and Wasted Nights — round out the top […]

  9. […] I enjoyed a chat with Michelle, who used the occasion to ask for money.  I attempted to get Clark to talk to me — or even make eye contact — to no avail.  […]

  10. […] least he didn’t remove the spring this […]

  11. […] merely forbidding Clark could not stop him from engineering the situation for himself.  On a game day, he found an excuse not to pick up his laundered uniform in time to board the […]

  12. […] [Because, to the horror of my teenagers, their friends have taken to "following me" and reading about my kids' exploits on Road to Joy bwah ha ha ha…keeps them scared […]

  13. […] Clark: High school debate & robotics, Dallas Cowboys biggest fan, you know him the ADHD-world in the Clark Chronicles.  I wrote such amazing limericks on Clark, I couldn’t limit […]

  14. […] passions cause great household consternation — arguing with Clark can make you insane, and we are always arguing with him, whether because he wants us to or because we nix the gaming.  We are all really tired of arguing […]



Leave a Reply

  • Comment Policy

    Comments that are negative, bullying, harassing, unpleasant, or that piss me off will not remain on this site, if they make it past my eagle eye at all. Be nice, or go play somewhere else. Thanks!
  • Copyright

    EVERYTHING (posts, pictures, etc.) on this blog, Road to Joy, are copyrighted to Pamela Fagan Hutchins, all rights reserved, and may not be copied, used, printed or distributed without my express written permission. You may link to the blog and my posts. Questions? Ask me.
