ADHD: Pesticides to Blame?


Is the broccoli to blame?

A recent study suggests a link between ADHD and pesticides.  I don’t know if I buy this, but it is thought-provoking.  In our household, genetics seem to be the obvious source of my son’s ADHD.  What do you think — are pesticides to blame in some cases of ADHD?

One thing I do agree with: bug-killing substances can’t be good for us, so the more organic we are able to consume, the better.  And that raises other debates about how to know WHAT you are consuming when you buy it from an unknown grower.  I would love to hear comments from organic farmers and people in produce distribution and sales, such as my friends Tom and Beverly Carnes of Agarita Creek Farms in Fredericksburg, TX, who raise heritage livestock, offer log cabin accommodations and grow organic produce. I believe they will tell us to BUY LOCAL.  It matters.

Also, I found some helpful information in this AOL Health article today:  it suggests exercise, getting outside, chores/activities kids can perform to boost self esteem, and watching allergy-related foods.  Gosh, sounds like a prescription visit to Agarita Creek Farms🙂 or the grandparents!  It goes on to suggest bio/neuro feedback, which we haven’t tried, but I blogged on in Gaming ADHD.

Have a pesticide free weekend if you can.  We are off to celebrate the graduation of our second oldest child from the University of Texas!

Pamelot

Comments
8 Responses to “ADHD: Pesticides to Blame?”
  1. Susanne Fagan says:

    We are going to be raising our own cattle and you can come eat squash, eggplant, tomatoes, peppers, and cilantro out of our garden when you come to DeLeon!!
    From what I have read the most important thing to buy organic is EGGS. And boy, are they expensive!

  2. Sarah says:

    I read that study also and I agree with you. There is a huge genetic link and that has been proven, so I don’t think pesticides cause ADHD. I do buy organic whenever possible, although the price I pay for milk makes my husband crazy! We need to be careful about what we put into our bodies (ADHD or not), and I do think that chemicals can aggrivate behaviors. I am going to do what I can to help my child with ADHD, including avoiding chemicals, giving her Omega 3’s and a good multi vitamin, lot’s of good outside time, and a sport she excells in; but I dont think these (or a lack of these) is what has caused her ADHD.

  3. Sarah says:

    After reading and responding to your post I had to write a blog of my own on this topic. I put a link to your blog in my post I hope you don’t mind. Here is the link:
    http://tumbling-sanity.blogspot.com/2010/05/blame.html

    • Pamela says:

      I don’t mind at all, thank you! And thank you for leaving your blog site in your comment. Hopefully others will see it and find you, too!

Trackbacks
Check out what others are saying...
  1. […] News excerpt fr&#959m: ADHD: Pesticides t&#959 Hold responsible? « Road t&#959 Joy Related […]

  2. […] ADHD: Pesticides to Blame? « Road to Joy […]

  3. […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by PamelaFaganHutchins, Christina Uticone. Christina Uticone said: #ADHD and pesticides? Not sure, but fewer chemicals can't hurt, right? Buy local! #SLGT http://bit.ly/dlUC1e […]



Leave a Reply

  • Comment Policy

    Comments that are negative, bullying, harassing, unpleasant, or that piss me off will not remain on this site, if they make it past my eagle eye at all. Be nice, or go play somewhere else. Thanks!
  • Copyright

    EVERYTHING (posts, pictures, etc.) on this blog, Road to Joy, are copyrighted to Pamela Fagan Hutchins, all rights reserved, and may not be copied, used, printed or distributed without my express written permission. You may link to the blog and my posts. Questions? Ask me.
