Love Don’t Cost a Thing


“Eric, the tulips are beautiful, but we are on a budget.”

“But I like to bring you flowers.  I want you to know I love you.”

“I do know you love me.  I would feel even more loved if I wasn’t stressed about the budget.  Maybe just cut back on the flowers?’

“You are not like other women, you know…”

“I’m sorry, honey.  I know.  But I love you.”

“Hrmph.”

Soooooo, instead of letting this hurt his feelings, what does my husband do?   This is what I saw when I came home from work that day.

I know, you don’t even have to tell me.

I don’t deserve him.

But I sure plan to keep him!

Comments
11 Responses to “Love Don’t Cost a Thing”
  1. Pamela says:

    Ha, he got me. After reading this blog, Eric ran straight out and bought tulips. Red, with yellow centers. Gorgeous. He’s forgiven for the indulgence🙂

  2. Christina says:

    That is pretty precious. Josh brings me pepperoni!

    • Pamela says:

      I love food. Eric brings me sugar free “heath bars” (choc covered toffee). As long as they know the way to our hearts. Of course, pepperoni says something about yours, crazy lady!

  3. Eric says:

    There was an opening because Pamela said “cut back on”
    That very clearly means, Dont eliminate… just reduce..🙂

Trackbacks
Check out what others are saying...
  1. […] p.s.  No, of course he does not have THIS bathing suit…but pictures exist of him in a speedo, and the ever-present threat of me publishing them through the interwebs hangs like a guillotine over him.  There’s a reason he’s so nice to me: fear. […]

  2. […] on the top of our rental car and hopped in, we were well on our way back to our happy place.  Yes, I know I don’t deserve him.  I don’t question it; I just count my […]

  3. […] leave notes for each other and sometimes I look the other way when he goes over our budget buying me …; we send cards through the mail, surprise each other with “dollar store” type gifts, we […]

  4. […] home alone with our three (moody and over-scheduled) teenagers.  Proving once again why he shall forever be called St. Eric and why I may not ever write about his Ironman underwear online again, Eric said, “I’m […]

  5. […] “Smile, beautiful.  I love you.” […]

  6. […] on the top of our rental car and hopped in, we were well on our way back to our happy place.  Yes, I know I don’t deserve him.  I don’t question it; I just count my […]



Leave a Reply

  • Comment Policy

    Comments that are negative, bullying, harassing, unpleasant, or that piss me off will not remain on this site, if they make it past my eagle eye at all. Be nice, or go play somewhere else. Thanks!
  • Copyright

    EVERYTHING (posts, pictures, etc.) on this blog, Road to Joy, are copyrighted to Pamela Fagan Hutchins, all rights reserved, and may not be copied, used, printed or distributed without my express written permission. You may link to the blog and my posts. Questions? Ask me.
