Writer Spaces


Where and when do you write?  I love all the comments to literary agent Rachelle Gardner’s blog on the topic: Q4U: A Room of One’s Own.  Some people need a dedicated place.  Others need a space with no clutter.  Still others migrate around.  Many of us keep our pets close at hand.  We vary as to music/sound/quiet. Check out my “About Pamela Hutchins and Road to Joy” page for pictures of my pets camped out in my two favorite writing spaces.  Oh, I admit it: my bed is my favorite writing space.

Wednesday I will blog on a related topic — creating and capturing inspiration.

Comments
4 Responses to “Writer Spaces”
  1. Gunter Kaesdorf says:

    I like writing in my office with the window open to my back yard. My puppies know not to disturb me as long as I’m rooted to my chair, but I’m not too sure about my wife. If I really need to escape to my fictional world, I close my door and hope no one calls me and plucks me out of it. This summer, I’m going to try something new—take my laptop with me and write on location.

    • Pamela says:

      I love trying to write outside, but I’m a laptop writer so the glare of the sun makes it hard. I go outside whenever the weather is nice, my intentions are great, and I always end up wasting time. I want to try to write on vacation/location, too. Shades of the Elizabeth Gilbert clip in my last post, I wonder what impact a change of locality (even temporary) would have on me. Let me know how it goes! My idea is a writing retreat in the mountains this summer for my women’s writing group.

  2. Heidiopia says:

    The only place I can NOT write is in bed! I migrate from my desk in my office (probably my favorite) to the kitchen table to my big comfy couch. Wrote most of my Nanowrimo work on the couch.🙂

  3. Eric says:

    This picture is a very very familiar site. And a great one. Once you get engaged and start to fly you can barely see your fingers.

Leave a Reply

  • Comment Policy

    Comments that are negative, bullying, harassing, unpleasant, or that piss me off will not remain on this site, if they make it past my eagle eye at all. Be nice, or go play somewhere else. Thanks!
  • Copyright

    EVERYTHING (posts, pictures, etc.) on this blog, Road to Joy, are copyrighted to Pamela Fagan Hutchins, all rights reserved, and may not be copied, used, printed or distributed without my express written permission. You may link to the blog and my posts. Questions? Ask me.
