Our Dog Whisperer and the Big Yellow TALKING Dog


Cowboy the big yellow dog has a head like a dinosaur and a lethal tail.  My husband Eric calls Cowboy “Chewbacca” after the giant furry character in the original Star Trek movies, not because of his size, but because Cowboy talks like Chewbacca. A lot.

His heart belongs to 12-year old Samantha. At 120 pounds apiece and both blonde, they are a great match.  Sami loves to curl up with him nose to nose.  He wraps his paws around her arms to make sure she doesn’t leave.

Sami will ask him, “Do you love me?” He answers in Chewbacca noises that sound like “I love you.” “Do you love only me?” Chewbacca responds with something that sounds like “yes.” “Do you love me so much, more than anything in the world?” she asks, and again he replies. This goes on for a while, 5-6 iterations of question and “answer” until they tire of the game.

I’ve tried to re-create the scene myself, but to no avail. I slip into her position with Cowboy and ask, “Do you love me?” His eyes smile, and he wags his tail, but he does not answer. “Do you love Eric?” Nothing. “Are you a good dog?” Silence. “Do you love Samantha?” Chewbecca agrees enthusiastically with a loud “Rarrr rarrr rarrrr.” I go back through my original questions, and he doesn’t make a sound.  The only thing he ever says to me – and he says it each day at 11:00 a.m. – is “out.”

Forget Cesar Millan. That girl is the dog whisperer.

What do you think: can dogs communicate verbally?  Do you think Cowboy knows what he is saying?  Do you have a talking dog, or other animal?  I’ve always thought of hounds as the most verbally expressive of dogs, but Cowboy is teaching me a thing or two about labs.  We also had a vocal German Shepherd.  And our cat Juliet won’t ever shut up, although she does not seem to be doing anything but cat-like vocalizations of her displeasure at anything and everything.

Personally, I believe Cowboy knows what he is saying.  He is emotional and expressive.  See video of Cowboy from last week here.  He brings out the best in us.  In fact, I believe animals often bring out the best in people, and I love including them in my fiction writing.  Some of my favorite books have strong animals characters, like Where the Red Fern Grows.  Do you have a favorite book with a strong animal character?

Comments
10 Responses to “Our Dog Whisperer and the Big Yellow TALKING Dog”
  1. Eric says:

    Yes he really is that big. And yes he is probably thinking about eating the German Shepard.

    • Pamela says:

      Besides Sami, I think what he loves best is eating. And, while we shouldn’t talk about it here, he does have experience with cannibalism. Yikes! OMG, as I recall, it involved … the exact dog in the picture!!! Ha. Well, I wrote about that experience in Annalise. Nothing makes good drama like the cannibalism of one beloved pet by another. Told you — I love animals in writing, even if it isn’t pretty…

  2. Hi Pamela, I have a German Shepherd named Teddy, you can see his picture on his Twitter account @TeddyGermanShep. And he talks like Chewbacca and also talks in general. He is a very good communicator and knows plenty of words. You have to be careful what you say around him. “walk” “car” “Ball” all invoke a response. My favorite is when we ask if he is still hungry, he licks his lips and then hits his dish. He will also do that if no one asks but he is still hungry. Thanks for the smiles!

  3. Baker Alkon says:

    The Animal Family by Randall Jarrell and illustrated by Sendak is one of my all time favorite books.

    • Pamela says:

      That’s a beautiful book. I love everything Sendak illustrates. We are actually going to try to die Cowboy red, by the way, for Halloween, and have him be Clifford the Big Red Dog.🙂

Trackbacks
Check out what others are saying...
  1. […] to a low bridge under which our trailer could not pass.  As we turned around to take the long way, Cowboy, our 120-pound freakishly large lab, whimpered once, shot Bubba-mon an apologetic look in the rear view mirror, and unloaded the entire […]

  2. […] that my neighbors could be sex offenders or serial killers.   We have a home security system and a couple of big dogs, but I know that is not enough to keep a determined criminal out of our […]

  3. […] kid around about what a pain Juliet is, but we never really mean it. The rest of us love our pets, especially Samantha, and he sent it directly to her. This is a tragedy. I hope that someday they can forgive Eric (and […]

  4. […] Samantha: Middler schooler whose hygiene habits indicate she is not yet interested in boys .  Loves dogs, swimming, and […]

  5. […] and rarely without my red Vaio laptop. I live with my husband and our three youngest kids plus 200 pounds of pets in Houston, but our hearts are still in St. Croix, […]



Leave a Reply

  • Comment Policy

    Comments that are negative, bullying, harassing, unpleasant, or that piss me off will not remain on this site, if they make it past my eagle eye at all. Be nice, or go play somewhere else. Thanks!
  • Copyright

    EVERYTHING (posts, pictures, etc.) on this blog, Road to Joy, are copyrighted to Pamela Fagan Hutchins, all rights reserved, and may not be copied, used, printed or distributed without my express written permission. You may link to the blog and my posts. Questions? Ask me.
