Lacrosse Gloves Make Sense to Me


My 14-year old son has ADHD.   He is also a near-genuis, hilarious, dearly-loved and the most well-adjusted member of our family.  When I think of Clark, I hear the Natalie Merchant song “Wonder:” “they say I must be one of the wonders, God’s own creation.” Clark ROCKS.

We always knew he had unique traits (don’t we all??), but we fought the ADHD label/diagnosis for many years.  Instead we would empathize with each other that he was disorganized, his father’s child, “out to lunch,”  and “would be fine when he grew up and had a great secretary.”  Type A slightly OCD woman that I am, I just believed that I could engineer a solution, that my will and need for control were stronger than anything Clark’s genetics could put in front of me.

We employed every suggestion we could find to help him, short of medication.  No matter what we did, Clark was still Clark, and that meant he was the kid who would leave the kitchen with an assignment to put up his folded laundry, forget it by the time he reached the living room, and happily re-enter the kitchen to sit down and read “The Ranger’s Apprentice” without understanding why his mother’s face was turning purple.

I will write about our experience with medication in a future blog.  I will also talk more about the other approaches we have taken – what has not worked and what has worked somewhat –  as well as the impact on the rest of the family and side issues such as gaming and computers.

But in this blog, I want to introduce you to my son.

Last year (8th grade), Clark received a commendation in all four of the standardized “TAKS” (Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills) subjects.  He participated in band and lacrosse.  He played a primary role in his middle school play, “The Naked King.”  And he almost drove his parents crazy with his general Clarkisms along the way.

At the time, Love and Logic Parenting was the method Clark’s counselor asked us to use to teach Clark responsibility for his own actions, in conjunction with the assistance Clark was getting in organizational skills – the staggering amount of assistance Clark was getting in organizational skills, which he absolutely hated, both from the counselor and us.  The premise was that we clearly state that the child is responsible for a certain behavior (i.e., turning in completed homework) and that if he chooses not to do the behavior, he is choosing the consequence that goes with it (i.e., yard work).   Logical, right?  Loving, too?  Sure…but, it didn’t work AT ALL.  Not a single bit.  It worked amazingly well with his non-ADHD siblings, though, so it was not a total waste.

To give you just a taste, I offer up this VERY one-sided Instant Message conversation between my husband (trimon29) and me (pamelafhutchins).  This exchange is about yard work Clark was doing as a consequence for not turning in completed homework.

pamelafhutchins 4:39pm: i told him to go outside and start the yard work/mow at 410. then i took a long shower
pamelafhutchins 4:39pm: i started getting ready in the bathroom
pamelafhutchins 4:39pm: at 4:33 i heard noises in the kitchen
pamelafhutchins 4:39pm: it was clark
pamelafhutchins 4:40pm: “getting a snack”
pamelafhutchins 4:40pm: i said go back outside you should have done the snack before you started the yard work
pamelafhutchins 4:40pm: he said no, i haven’t gotten started out in the yard yet
pamelafhutchins 4:40pm: i said impossible, no snack takes 22 min
pamelafhutchins 4:40pm: he said he made a sandwich
pamelafhutchins 4:40pm: i said that doesn’t take 22 minutes, 22 minutes is a 3 course meal
pamelafhutchins 4:40pm: he then said he’d go right outside
pamelafhutchins 4:40pm: but he came right back in and said he had no gas so he was going to pull weeds instead of mow. i said ok. he asked me to show him which plants are weeds so i did
pamelafhutchins 4:41pm: he came back in 1 minute later and said there are thorns
pamelafhutchins 4:41pm: i said get gloves if you are concerned about thorns (as you know there were barely any stickers on those plants and no thorns)
pamelafhutchins 4:41pm: he went looking for gloves
pamelafhutchins 4:41pm: couldn’t find any (he said)
pamelafhutchins 4:41pm: he went back outside WITH HIS GIANT LACROSSE GLOVES ON, with the fingers that have the size and flexibility of a Polish sausage
pamelafhutchins 4:41pm: at this point, i became frustrated
pamelafhutchins 4:41pm: i told him to get the gloves off and get outside
pamelafhutchins 4:41pm: i explained to him that it was 4:36 and that we were leaving at 630 for his sister’s concert and that I was dropping him at his dads
pamelafhutchins 4:41pm: because he had at least 2 hours of work to do in the yard as he had known since last night
pamelafhutchins 4:42pm: and he couldn’t go to the concert without a shower, but there wouldn’t be time for him to shower because he had to finish
pamelafhutchins 4:42pm: and that after this i couldn’t trust him to stay at home alone and do the yard work without supervision, so he had to go to his dad’s
pamelafhutchins 4:42pm:  AND this was after a very difficult 5 minute conversation trying to get a straight answer out of him about his grades and what his teachers said about any need for extra credit in his classes given all the homework he hadn’t turned in.

pamelafhutchins 4:42pm:  i had to stop him over and over when he would say something nonresponsive designed to make me think he had actually talked to the teacher, and i’d say, that’s not what the teacher said, what did the teacher say, and it turned out he hadn’t talked to the teachers
pamelafhutchins 4:42pm: so then he started crying because he wasn’t going to get to go to the concert
pamelafhutchins 4:43pm: and i only yelled one time, which is a miracle at this point
pamelafhutchins 4:43pm: and i said stop with the tears, this was your choice to waste 40 min, i told you that we had things to do that you might not get to do if you didn’t get finished so maybe you’ll learn from this but if you don’t it will be the same tomorrow
pamelafhutchins 4:43pm: but either way, get outside and get going on the yard work
trimon29 4:44pm: i am still here, take a breath
trimon29 4:44 pm: LACROSSE GLOVES?🙂 you have got to admit, that is pretty funny….
pamelfhutchins 4:45 pm: ask me tomorrow and maybe it will be funny then…

pamelfhutchins 4:47 pm: ok i admit it, it’s funny

Emphasis added.  Note that it truly is a miracle that Clark survives his mother; yelling only once in this lengthy exchange was quite an achievement for me.  Intellectually, I know yelling does no good, except to occasionally keep my head from exploding off the top of my neck.

Our learning from the scenario above?  That Love and Logic don’t overcome the wiring of an ADHD brain.  Some behaviors just aren’t a choice Clark makes.  Some are, though, and one of our challenges is to keep him from gaming our system by using ADHD as an excuse for bad choices, especially as he becomes more savvy.

Lacrosse gloves…it was pretty funny.

What’s your favorite story involving your beloved ADHD child?  Please feel free to comment.  Share with the rest of us so we can all celebrate our human frailty together.  Over the next few months, as I go over other humorous situations and the failed parental solutions Clark has lived through, I would love to hear from you about things that have and have not worked.  I’m hoping I can get Clark to blog on here once or twice, too. Fear not: Clark’s is a story of great success by the time we get to “the end.”

NOTE: Clark reads every blog I ever write about him, and there have been many over the years.  He frequently battles with me/keeps me honest over our sometimes divergent views of the facts, although I have explained to him that truth should never get in the way of a good story.  The big surprise is that he loves being the subject of my writing.  He knows one thing for sure: he may test his mother’s patience, but he is a very loved kid.

Comments
6 Responses to “Lacrosse Gloves Make Sense to Me”
  1. Pamela says:

    These are comments from the predecessor blog on blogger:

    Anonymous said…

    Our Family is cursed I mean blessed that I myself have ADD, and so it seems I have passed this down to our son Dawson, I take the H out due to Dawson and myself both move more like slugs and have nothing hyper in either one of us ! The thing is.. With both of us having it.. He never remembers what chore he us to be doing and I never remember which one I told him to do first!! Our arguments go something more like this: Why havnt you taken out the trash? Him: did you ask me to? Me: I think I did didn’t I? Like 20 times! Him: no me: yes .. So can you take it out now? Him: what? But look at this bear on tv.. Where then we both are captivated by the next hour of extreme nature channel and Both completely forget about the trash!!! Haha Maddie just thinks we are both crazy!
    March 24, 2010 10:47 AM
    Pamelot aka Pamela Hutchins said…

    That’s so funny! Clark’s came by his ADHD through his dad, too, so I can just picture what it is like at your house. How lucky that you can understand Dawson though and empathize with him.
    March 24, 2010 11:08 AM
    Heidiopia said…

    This was great the first time I read it, and I love it even more now! YOU know why, soul sister– keep it coming, please! I’m having a spell of “about to blow a gasket” myself!
    March 24, 2010 3:46 PM
    Penny Williams said…

    I am so glad I discovered your blog today! You so eloquently show that our ADHD kids cannot help their behaviors, despite all the consequences in the world. You also rightly conveyed how maddening that can be for a parent (especially very organized minds like ours)! Despite the rant, it’s humorous and entertaining. I actually laughed out loud when he put on the Lacrosse gloves to pull weeds. Yes, oh so funny!

    I have added you to my blog roll on my blog about parenting an ADHD child as well.

    Can’t wait to read more!
    Penny
    http://adhdmomma.blogspot.com
    March 25, 2010 7:43 AM
    Pamelot said…

    Penny:
    I’ll add you to mine, too. Took a quick look out at your blog, and can’t wait to go back and spend some time there. I’m glad we found each other!
    March 25, 2010 9:29 AM
    rakrause said…

    Thanks for sharing about your love/frustration. Clark sounds like a wonderful kid. My adhd “child” is now a psych. professor and researcher!! So keep the faith!:) We thought he wouldn’t graduate from high school, but always supported the things he really was interested in and encouraged him to follow these interests. His first year in coll. he found a niche in the psych chimp lab. It was up from there and he never stopped–hasn’t yet.

    I’m enjoying following you in your blog and twitter. RuthAnne
    March 25, 2010 6:34 PM
    Pamelot said…

    Thank you, RuthAnne. Clark’s had a tough night — that darn missed homework cross he carries — and it is always so encouraging to hear happy endings🙂
    March 25, 2010 7:18 PM

Trackbacks
Check out what others are saying...
  1. […] slightly as he matures.  Medication helps.  Support helps. But Clark and other ADHD kids find it hard to process why lying now to avoid present unpleasant circumstances will matter later — later is later.  That doesn’t mean they don’t know the difference between the […]

  2. […] to help my ADHD son Clark, and the times he has been scarred (or helped) by others.  My trademark wit is nowhere to be seen in this blog; here, you will see a mother’s […]

  3. […] “Huh, what fish?” asked Clark Johnson. […]

  4. […] OMG, what will we do when football season is over?!? Share this:StumbleUponDiggReddit Posted by Pamela Filed in ADHD aka "The Clark Chronicles", […]

  5. […] If only Clark could mow the lawn without coming in the house 6 times (to consult his support staff/wipe his face/get a drink/get a snack/go to bathroom/complain) during what should be a 20-minute job, figure out how to sweep up the lawn clippings he left all over the driveway, put them in the trashcan after we ask him to and he finally does sweep them up, put up the broom, put up the lawnmower, put up the gas can, and shut the shed door, he’d be unstoppable.  THAT BOY. […]



Leave a Reply

  • Comment Policy

    Comments that are negative, bullying, harassing, unpleasant, or that piss me off will not remain on this site, if they make it past my eagle eye at all. Be nice, or go play somewhere else. Thanks!
  • Copyright

    EVERYTHING (posts, pictures, etc.) on this blog, Road to Joy, are copyrighted to Pamela Fagan Hutchins, all rights reserved, and may not be copied, used, printed or distributed without my express written permission. You may link to the blog and my posts. Questions? Ask me.
