Hey Soul Sister, Ain’t That Mister Mister


Name that tune, name that group (answer in the comments).   After 12 hours with 40 soul sisters and brothers, it is definitely on my mind.  I love the song.

This weekend at Writer’s Digest’s Editor’s Intensive has turned out to be a terrific investment.  And I haven’t even endured the sure-to-be-as-helpful-as-painful editing session, yet.

Chuck Sambuchino spent two hours with us this morning to discuss finding an agent.  Excellent.  We had several productive hours with Jane Friedman on industry trends, and she was joined by Alice Pope for a social media networking session in the afternoon.  We ended with a panel discussion of “Things That Make an Editor Stop Reading.”  For me, this was the most useful session.  A few editors joined us for a happy hour at the end of the day, although there weren’t enough of them to go around, so I didn’t get a chance to speak with any of them.

The highlight?  So far, it has been the opportunity to network with other writers at the same stage in their writing journey.  All the writers I have met share the quality of perseverance, no matter their genre.  Many of us are dying for more rigorous feedback, and we have found in each other soul brothers and sisters ready (warning: upcoming cliche) to dish it out and take it.  I know that there are a generous handful with whom I will continue to communicate and swap work.

Wish me luck tomorrow.  I know I have committed two (at least) of the “Things That Make An Editor Stop Reading” sins, and it is too late to fix them; my editor has already worked on the manuscript.  I’m about to take a shellacking.  AND I COULDN’T BE HAPPIER ABOUT IT!!!!

By the way, exclamation points are a thing that make an editor stop reading :-)  I wonder if smiley emoticons are, too?

Ha.

Good night,

Pamelot

Comments
One Response to “Hey Soul Sister, Ain’t That Mister Mister”
  1. Pamela says:

    These comments were made on the original posting to the predecessor blog:

    5 comments:

    Susita said…

    That would be Train, but I don’t know the name.
    March 13, 2010 10:12 PM
    Pamelot said…

    I’ll give you a hint: It’s in the blog title.
    March 13, 2010 10:13 PM
    Ethan Johnson said…

    Hey, Soul Sister
    March 13, 2010 10:24 PM
    Pamelot said…

    Thank goodness we have a winner. Go Ethan. Now I can go to sleep and wake up fresh for tomorrow’s editing session. Night, all!
    March 13, 2010 10:28 PM
    Heidiopia said…

    Sweet! If anyone can take a shellacking and keep on trucking it’s you!
    March 14, 2010 10:25 AM

Leave a Reply

  • Comment Policy

    Comments that are negative, bullying, harassing, unpleasant, or that piss me off will not remain on this site, if they make it past my eagle eye at all. Be nice, or go play somewhere else. Thanks!
  • Copyright

    EVERYTHING (posts, pictures, etc.) on this blog, Road to Joy, are copyrighted to Pamela Fagan Hutchins, all rights reserved, and may not be copied, used, printed or distributed without my express written permission. You may link to the blog and my posts. Questions? Ask me.
