Happiness Is Love of Eric in the Rearview Mirror


The kids and I were driving off in one direction and my husband Eric in the other, us back to Houston and him on to San Antonio for a conference. We had just finished a peaceful weekend with family in tiny De Leon, Texas. Upcoming were several days of traveling for him and separation for us.  It would give me lots of time to write, although inspiration is a fickle thing.  Sometimes when he is gone, the emotion generated by missing him floods my pages; other times, I am too flat for creativity.  My training for the upcoming MS 150 Houston to Austin bicycle ride would probably suffer in his absence as well.

When we were about one mile outside of De Leon, my 12-year old daughter Sami said, “Mom, Eric is behind us with his flashers on, and he’s honking.” We could not hear his horn — or his repeated calls to my cell phone — due to the decibel level of her song selection: Jesse McCartney and Dream Street performing “Sugar Rush” (if you haven’t heard it, it is as bad as you imagine).

I looked into my rearview mirror, and his flashing lights and car filled the frame.  For a moment I panicked that he had bad news, but intuition grounded in experience told me otherwise.

“What did he forget?” I asked with amusement.  My grandmother called people like Eric “a day late and a dollar short.”  He was forever forgetting something.

Opening my car door, I leaned out and peered back over my shoulder.  He loped in an exaggerated fashion to our old Suburban, like Rocky at the end of one of his workouts in the streets of Philadelphia. I’m sure the Hereford cows watching from the side of the road were as entertained as me.

“Mom wants to know what you forgot,” my son Clark announced before either of us could speak.

But Eric already had his arms around me and his face pressed against mine. He spoke so that only I could hear which wasn’t hard to do with Jesse and the Suburban as cover.

“My favorite Brad Paisley song came on, and it made me want to come touch you one more time. I figured I could still catch you.”

“What song, the one about the ticks?” I asked. “Eric! There are two kids in the car, and this is a public road, you know.”

“No! The one about the yellow pair of running shoes.”

“I have two pair; neither are yellow. Pink Adistars. “

“Oh good grief! You know the one; the one I think he wrote from me about you.”

I knew the one. I quit being difficult.

“You are so sweet. You drove after me just to tell me that?”

He nose-snuggled me. “And to touch you. And to tell you I love you, and I wish we were heading home together.”

“And you didn’t even get pulled over for speeding.”

“And I was definitely speeding.”

We held on to each other tight for another few moments, and the kids didn’t interrupt us, which was shocking.  My heart thumped its dread of the upcoming days without him, but I knew my fingers would dance happy words across the keys now. Maybe I’d even ride the darn bicycle. I sat on the side of the road and watched him in my rearview mirror as he walked back to his car, and I kept watching as he turned around and drove away, toward San Antonio this time.

(Click for the lyrics to Mac Davis’ “Texas in my Rear View Mirror,” alluded to in the title of this blog.)

Comments
9 Responses to “Happiness Is Love of Eric in the Rearview Mirror”
  1. Rhonda says:

    I love this! With a husband like that I’m surprised you aren’t writing romance novels!

Trackbacks
Check out what others are saying...
  1. […] you do for yourself?  In the end, what’s the difference, I say!  Take music and athletics with Eric and me, for […]

  2. […] you wouldn’t know whether I liked you or […]

  3. […] morning of road bicycling with just Eric.  I can handle only so much chit chat and laughter before I search for my love’s protective eyes and signal “take me home,” exhausted and melancholy for no good […]

  4. […] They say rednecking can lead to redneckedness, but I’m not going there, I promise.  Except I did receive one subliminal message during the […]

  5. […] We held hands and traded swipes of the Chapstick.  I looked at his wind-chafed, sunburned face and almost melted from the heat of adoring him.  Or maybe it was from the flame of the candle which I huddled over to stay warm.  What was wrong […]

  6. […] we text/IM/FB/Twitter/Email our fingers off, and tell anyone that will listen how lucky we are.  We deliberately build each other and our relationship up.  We must protect The Relationship so that it is just as strong and vibrant when we are ninety as […]

  7. […] Happiness is Love of Eric in My Rearview Mirror […]



Leave a Reply

  • Comment Policy

    Comments that are negative, bullying, harassing, unpleasant, or that piss me off will not remain on this site, if they make it past my eagle eye at all. Be nice, or go play somewhere else. Thanks!
  • Copyright

    EVERYTHING (posts, pictures, etc.) on this blog, Road to Joy, are copyrighted to Pamela Fagan Hutchins, all rights reserved, and may not be copied, used, printed or distributed without my express written permission. You may link to the blog and my posts. Questions? Ask me.
